Pink Productions had the pleasure of speaking to Dejia Mouton.

Pink Productions had the pleasure of speaking to Dejia Mouton. She is a dancer in Houston and teaches intermediate dance classes to dancers ages 13 to 57! She is certainly on her way to making a name for herself in the dance industry. 

How was your childhood? 

During my childhood I was brought up around people who uplifted me. I grew up near Aldine, Houston, TX. I was in a different environment during my early childhood and I don’t think that I was able to be myself then. Aldine is kind of like the ghetto and now I stay in Humble, TX, which is more reserved. I’m the oldest of 3 kids; I have a brother and sister. I had a lot of responsibilities as the oldest. I had to be the role model to my siblings and plus, I was my parents’ first child. For the most part I was a very active and happy child.

Did you struggle with any insecurities growing up? If so, how did you deal with them or how are you dealing with them today?

I would have to say trying to fit in. I struggled trying to figure out who I was, living in Aldine I was a completely different person. I was confused. I felt like I had to be a certain way. I felt like I had to be like the other kids in my environment. The only thing that I was confident in was dance. I was the same person in both Aldine & Humble when it came to dance. I’m in high school, so I still struggle with this. I’m still finding myself. 

How did you get started choreographing?

I started dancing at the age of 2. I became serious at the age of 13 when I started dancing for a company at a performing arts center. They taught me to use my time wisely, how to compete and my basics. They were mostly competition. A few years later, I switched dance studios and started dancing downtown, in the Houston area. There I was taught hip-hop and we’re more like a family, we don’t compete with each other all the time. I learned my style, which is hip-hop and I love the environment. It’s more down to earth. Now I dance with So Real studio, I can honestly say I found myself through dance. Dance has taught me to be confident and comfortable. It’s caused me to challenge myself. It’s taught me life lessons and it has helped me overcome fear.

What are you working on now? What do you do in your spare time?

I don’t really get to do a lot. I dance every single day. When I’m not in school and dance, I try to hang out with friends, which doesn’t happen a lot. I also teach intermediate dance classes, for dancers ages 13 to 57 years old. 

What are your ultimate goals, what do you have planned for your future?

In my future I want to dance! I would like to go to college for business. I plan to stay in Texas to continue with my dance studio. I want to be a background dancer in music videos. I don’t quite know about owning my own dance studio just yet, but that’s why I want to go to college for business so that if I decide to go that route I can. 

To learn more about Dejia, follow her on IG @dejiavu_!